Thinking like a social worker

…any questions? Yes. I have plenty.

Monday Morning Share: Happy Labor Day!

on September 2, 2013

Happy Labor Day!

Over the past couple weeks, I have been following a beautiful labor movement –  The fast food protests to increase the minimum wage.  I also had the opportunity to watch pieces of the 50th anniversary of the March of Washington.  When I hear about people coming together to fight inequality, I ALWAYS cry, because it gives me hope for America’s future.  So while I share many articles on the politics of poverty and studies about poverty in Virginia and around the nation, I am hopeful that together we can demand opportunity for all Americans.

Poverty in Virginia – summer 2013:

  1. Virginia Scorecard shows poverty is worsening.  The poverty section gives more detail about the score.  It also reports that the state has limited influence on poverty.  What?!  I think my multiple articles below shows that the government can have a huge impact on poverty.
  2. Voices for Virginia’s Children report on VA’s Kids Count Profile.  This report also shows setbacks in economic well-being.  Child poverty  has increased by 15 percent since 2005.
  3. Richmond’s Mayor talks about Restructuring Municipal Budgets to Fight Poverty in Spotlight on Poverty.
  4. Virginia Poverty Measure (VPM) gives Virginians a more accurate picture of economic distress.  Its an poverty measure similar to the SPM that I wrote about in January, but focuses on individual-level data.
  5. I just learned about a new blog: http://thehalfsheet.org/ through The Commonwealth Institute.  It covers economic issues in Virginia.

Poverty:

  1. A couple articles focus on the Cato Institutes report on welfare: Right-Wing Media Have No Clue How Anti-Poverty Programs Work and Think tank says poor Americans have it too good.
  2. Republicans Are Wearing Driving Millions Into Poverty as a Badge of Honor discusses the sequester’s effect on individuals in poverty.
  3. Expert Testimony from Tianna Gaines-Turner, who is living in and fighting poverty, that was not heard in Washington.
  4. Poverty & Policy blog explains attacks on SNAP program in Congress.
  5. 80 percent of U.S. adults face near poverty, unemployment: Survey is a recent survey through AP.  There has been much discussion around it’s findings.
  6. Our growing racial wealth gap talks about a recent study from Urban Institute.

Please share with me other articles that I may have missed this month.  If you are interested in more up-to-date posts, I retweet articles on my twitter feed throughout the month.

Leave a Reply

