Thinking like a social worker

…any questions? Yes. I have plenty.

2013: The year of firsts

on July 8, 2013

Like many social workers, I am a born goal setter.  I am not sure exactly where I want to be in my life, but damn if I am not setting myself up for something great. I like to stay involved, give back, and learn as much as I can.  During 2013, I have been focusing on my personal growth, which has led to many firsts:

January – 1st time sitting on a selection committee for award nominees

February – 1st time on Jury Duty

March – 1st time participating in LGBTQ youth discussion group

April – 1st time leading a grief support group

May – 1st time having coffee with a professor and 1st time participating in a book club

June – 1st time putting on a conference and the 1st time paying out-of-pocket for a training

So, I am branding 2013 “The Year of Firsts.”  I plan to fill the rest of 2013 with many more firsts, both big and small, by having a new “first” each month of the year.  Some I have already planned – running my first marathon, taking my first post-college art class, getting involved with my first VA governor’s race, and others will form by making the commitment to firsts.  Even if the goal is cheesy, it will lead to new experiences.  All experiences, good and bad, lead to personal growth. So, 2013 will be filled many firsts and much growth!

What cheesy goals have you set for yourself this year?  What new experiences have you committed to in 2013?

One response to “2013: The year of firsts

  1. […] posted earlier about 2013 being the year of firsts.  One of those firsts is training for my first marathon. Currently, all of my workout clothing […]

Leave a Reply

